Published Date: 01/27/2014
By George Ports
CAI's Advice & Resolution Team occasionally gets calls requesting information on the “New Hire Reporting Act.” Employers are required to report new hires in accordance with both North Carolina State Law (G.S. § 110-129.2) and the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996. NC employers are required to report all employees hired who reside or work in North Carolina even if they work only one day. This includes rehires – employees who return to work after being laid off or terminated from employment. NC law does not require employers to report independent contractors since they are not employees.
All NC employers fall under these requirements. Temporary agencies are required to report any employees hired to report for a work assignment for a client. These employees only need to be reported once, not each time they report to a client. Failure to report a new employee could result in a fine up to $25 per violation.
New hire reports are required within 20 days of a new employee’s hire date and can be submitted electronically or mailed to:
North Carolina State Directory of New Hires
P.O. Box 90369
East Point, GA 30364-0369
Employers can go to http://j.mp/nc-nh to register for online reporting. Employers are provided with a printable confirmation of reports received and reporting services are available 24/7. For more information regarding these reporting requirements go to http://j.mp/nh-f.